The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) and the Canada Council for the Arts are pleased to announce the recipients of the Governor General’s Medals in Architecture for 2008.

Terrence Donnelly Centre for Cellular and Biomolecular Research, University of Toronto (Toronto, ON) – architectsAlliance & Behnisch Architekten

Nk’Mip Desert Cultural Centre (Osoyoos, BC) – Hotson Bakker Boniface Haden Architects

Jaypee Institute of Information Technology (Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India) – Le Groupe Arcop

Canada’s National Ballet School Project Grand Jet (Toronto, ON) – Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects & Goldsmith Borgal & Company Ltd. Architects, Architects in Joint Venture

ROAR_one (Vancouver, BC) – Lang Wilson Practice in Architecture Culture Inc. and Hotson Bakker Boniface Haden Architects, Associated Architects

House at 4a Wychwood Park (Toronto, Ontario) – Ian MacDonald Architect Inc.

New Canadian War Museum (Ottawa, ON) – Moriyama & Teshima Architects, Griffiths Rankin Cook Architects: Architects in Joint Venture

Gleneagles Community Centre (West Vancouver, BC) – Patkau Architects

Winnipeg Centennial Library Addition (Winnipeg, MB) – Patkau / LM Architectural Group

Communication, Culture and Technology Building, University of Toronto (Mississauga, ON) – Saucier + Perrotte architects

Scarborough Chinese Baptist Church (Scarborough, ON) – Teeple Architects Inc.

Trent Chemical Sciences Building (Peterborough, ON) – Teeple Architects Inc. and associate architects Shore Tilbe & Irwin

“The creations of the twelve recipients of the Governor General’s Medal in Architecture make us appreciate the degree to which Canadian architects have transformed the places where we live, work, share culture and come together into a celebration of beauty and human genius,” said Her Excellency the Right Honourable Michalle Jean, Governor General of Canada.

“All art forms contribute to improving our quality of life and the communities we live in, but architecture has a particularly immediate and direct impact on our surroundings,” said Simon Brault, Vice-Chair of the Canada Council for the Arts. “The outstanding buildings that are being honoured with this year’s Governor General’s Medals are a testament to the creativity, ingenuity and overall excellence of Canadian architects, and the Canada Council is proud to participate in the administration of this award.”

“It is very encouraging to note that our educational, cultural and community institutions have embraced inspirational contemporary Canadian architecture,” said RAIC President Kiyoshi Matsuzaki, FRAIC. “This year’s winners include buildings for higher education, community and cultural centres, a church and a museum as well as two residences. The award-winning projects are indeed world-class and demonstrate that, as architects, we Canadians can create buildings that are second to none.”

The Governor General’s Medals in Architecture will be presented at 6 p.m. Oct. 16, 2008 at Rideau Hall by Her Excellency.

The Governor General’s Medals in Architecture recognize outstanding achievement in recently built projects by Canadian architects. This program, created by the RAIC, contributes to the development of the discipline and practice of architecture, and increases public awareness of architecture as a vital cultural force in Canadian society. These awards are administered jointly with the Canada Council for the Arts, which is responsible for the adjudication process and contributes to the publication highlighting the medal winners.

Descriptions, biographies and downloadable images of the architectural firms and their winning buildings are available at and

The 2008 Governor General’s Medals in Architecture recipients were selected by a jury of the following distinguished architects: Prof. Manfred Sabatke, (Stuttgart, Germany); Pina Petricone, MRAIC (Toronto); John McMinn (Toronto); Anne Cormier (Montral); and Steve Christer (Reykjavik, Iceland).

Established in 1907, the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada is a voluntary national association representing almost 3,700 architects. As the leading voice of architecture in Canada, RAIC works to affirm architecture matters; to celebrate the richness and diversity of architecture in Canada; and to support architects in achieving excellence.

McGraw-Hill Construction generously sponsors the RAIC’s awards programs.

The Canada Council for the Arts, in addition to its principal role of promoting and fostering the arts in Canada, administers and awards over 100 prizes and fellowships in the arts, humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, health sciences and engineering. In addition to its partnership with the RAIC in the administration of the Governor General’s Medals, the Canada Council recognizes achievement in architecture through the Professional Prix de Rome in Architecture, the Prix de Rome in Architecture for Emerging Practitioners, and the Ronald J. Thom Award for Early Design Achievement.