CSLA/AAPC 2009 Awards of Excellence winners announced

The Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA) has announced that 25 projects, located in Canada and the United States, have won national and regional recognition in the prestigious 2009 CSLA Awards of Excellence in Landscape Architecture.


This year the CSLA Awards of Excellence jury, including Nelda Rodger, Editor of Azure Design Magazine and representatives from coast-to-coast, received 56 outstanding project submissions from landscape architects across Canada.  Says CSLA President Cathy Sears, 


“The 2009 Awards of Excellence truly celebrate the vital role and influence of landscape architecture in Canada.  This year’s entries reflect the rich diversity and remarkable talents of our profession, as well as the significant impact collectively, we as practitioners, educators and administrators have on our environments and quality of life. Through engagement, innovative planning and design processes and creative solutions these award winning projects are an inspiration and exciting evidence that we are indeed rising to the challenges of the 21st century. Congratulations to all the 2009 Award Recipients”.


The CSLA Awards of Excellence recognize and encourage excellence in all aspects of the landscape architecture profession as well as promoting a strong awareness of landscape architecture among related professions, potential clients and the general public. 



The four National Honour Award winners are:

·         Le consortium Daoust Lestage inc. – Williams Asselin Ackaoui- Option Amenagement, Québec City, Québec for La Promenade Samuel-De Champlain 

·         Groupe Cardinal Hardy, Outremont’s railroad yard, Montréal, Québec for Outremont Campus – Université de Montreal

·         Field Operations, Toronto, Ontario for Lake Ontario Park Master Plan

·         Ekistics Planning and Design, Halifax, Nova Scotia for Point Pleasant Park Comprehensive Plan


The six National Merit Award winners are:

·         Centre for Landscape Research, University of Toronto, Lakeview, Mississauga, Ontario for Lakeview: Community Education and Landscape Politics

·         Ontario Association of Landscape Architects for Ground: Landscape Architect Quarterly

·         Design Centre for Sustainability, University of British Columbia for Green Infrastructure in Calgary’s Mobility Corridors

·         PWL Partnership Landscape Architects Ltd., Vancouver, British Columbia for Southeast False Creek Waterfront – Phase 1

·         space2place design inc., Richmond, British Columbia for Garden City Play Environment

·         West 8 + DTAH (du Toit Allsopp Hillier), Toronto, Ontario for Spadina Wavedeck


The three National Citation Award winners are:


·         CBCL Limited, Sydney, Nova Scotia for Port to Port Corridor Study

·         The Planning Partnership Limited, Houston, Texas for Urban Corridor Planning/City of Houston

·         Ville De Montréal – Direction des grands parcs et de la nature en ville, Montréal, Québec for Square des Frères-Charon 


The three Regional Honour Awards winners are:


·         IBI Group/DAA, Quebec City, Quebec for Renaturalization of the St-Charles River, Phases 3

·         George Dark, OALA, FCSLA, ASLA, Urban Strategies Inc., Ithaca, New York, USA for Cornell Master Plan for The Ithaca Campus

·         space2place design inc., Vancouver, British Columbia for Spirit Trail


The four Regional Merit Awards winners are:  


·         LEES + Associates & Phillips Farevaag Smallenberg, Vancouver, British Columbia for Mountain View Cemetery: Masonic Area Redevelopmen

·         Janet Rosenberg + Associates (JRA)/Schollen & Company Inc.,Toronto, Ontario for Franklin Children’s Garden

·         Ecoplans Limited , Toronto, Ontario for Ellis Avenue Stormwater Management Wetlands


·         PLANT Architect Inc., Quebec City, Quebec for Boustrophedon Garden


The five Regional Citation Awards winners are:


·         Schollen & Company INC., Toronto, Ontario for Seaton Natural Heritage System Management Plan and Master Trails Plan

·         Phillips Farevaag Smallenberg Planning, Urban Design and Landscape Architecture, Vancouver, British Columbia for Vancouver General Hospital (VGH) Energy Centre

·         Phillips Farevaag Smallenberg Planning, Urban Design and Landscape Architecture, Seattle, Washington, USA for Safeco Insurance Roof Gardens

·         Bev Sandalack and the EVDS Urban Lab, and Dillon Consulting Limited, Red Deer County, Alberta for Red Deer Country Open Space Master Plan

·         Hilderman Thomas Frank Cram Landscape Architecture and Planning, Winnipeg, Manitoba for the Winnipeg Humane Society