Cooper-Hewitt Announces Winners of the 2009 National Design Awards

New York’s Smithsonian’s Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum has announced the winners and finalists of the 2009 National Design Awards, which recognize excellence across a variety of disciplines. The museum also announced the presentation of the “Design USA: Contemporary Innovation” exhibition, which celebrates the work of the honorees from the first ten years of the prestigious National Design Awards program. 

First launched at the White House in 2000 as a project of the White House Millennium Council, the National Design Awards were established to promote excellence and innovation in design. The 2009 National Design Awards nominations were solicited from a committee of more than 2,500 designers, educators, journalists, cultural figures and corporate leaders from every state in the nation.

The 2009 National Design Awards recipients are:

Lifetime Achievement: Bill Moggridge

Design Mind: Amory B. Lovins

Corporate Achievement: Walker Art Center
Finalists: Dwell Magazine and Heath Ceramics

Architecture Design: SHoP Architects
Finalists: Architecture Research Office and Michael Maltzan

Communication Design: The New York Times Graphics Department
Finalists: Hoefler & Frere-Jones and Project Projects

Fashion Design: Francisco Costa for Calvin Klein Collection
Finalists: Thom Browne and Rodarte

Interaction Design: Perceptive Pixel Inc
Finalists: Potion and Lisa Strausfeld

Interior Design: TsAO & McKOWN Architects
Finalists: Ali Tayar and Work AC

Landscape Design: Hood Design
Finalists: Andrea Cochran and Rios Clementi Hale Studios

Product Design: Boym Partners
Finalists: Salvor Projects and Smart Design

The 2009 jury was composed of a diverse group of previous winners of the National Design Awards, including: John Maeda, chair, president, Rhode Island School of Design; Stephen Frykholm, vice president and creative director, Herman Miller; Michael Maharam, principal, Maharam; Marissa Mayer, vice president of search products and user experience, Google Inc.; Sigi Moeslinger, partner, Antenna Design; Monica Ponce de Leon, dean, University of Michigan (TCAUP) and principal, Office dA; Ralph Rucci, principal, Chado Ralph Rucci; Margaret Stewart, user experience manager, YouTube, a subsidiary of Google Inc.; Marc Tsurumaki, principal and co-founder, Lewis.Tsurumaki.Lewis; Michael Van Valkenburgh, principal, Michael Van Valkenburgh Associates.