Winners all

The Ordre des architectes du Québec (OAQ) and its major partner TD Assurance Meloche Monnex has bestowed honours on the winners of the 25th edition of the Awards of Excellence in Architecture. Recently, more than 500 people – including architects, clients and partners – gathered for a gala event in Montreal, which was presented as part of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada’s Festival of Architecture week. 

Following is a full list of winners of the 2009 Awards of Excellence in IN Architecture, along with Honourable Mentions and Special Awards.


Award of Excellence – Interior Design (corporate)
Project: The Offices of Saucier + Perrotte, architects, Montréal
Clients, architects and owners: Gilles Saucier and André Perrotte

Award of Excellence – Interior Design (residential)
Project: Lignes Aériennes, Montréal (redesign of a loft to include a child’s room)
Architects: Les architectes Duchesneau & McComber
Clients: Marie-France Latour and Jean Paquette

Award of Excellence – Commercial (under $2M – no award presented for $2M or more)
Project: Quatro D, Montréal (healthy fast-food restaurant, grocery-convenience store)
Architects: _naturehumaine, Plasse-Rasselet, architects
Client: Quattro D Inc.

Award of Excellence – Cultural (over $2M – no award presented for $2M or less)
Project: Bibliothèque de Charlesbourg
Architects: Croft Pelletier, architects
Client: Québec City

Award of Excellence – Event
Ephemeral installation: Territoires habités, Baie-Saint-Paul
Architects: Atelier Pierre Thibault
Client: project presented by the Musée National des Beaux-Arts du Québec

Award of Excellence – Industrial ($2M or more—no award presented for $2M or less)
Project and client: St-Germain Égouts et Aqueducs, Saint-Hubert
Architects: Allaire Courchesne Dupuis Frappier_architectes

Award of Excellence – Institutional ($5M or less)
Project: Quai des Cageux on Promenade Samuel-De Champlain, Québec City
Architects: Daoust Lestage Inc., Architecture/Urban Design
Client: Commission de la capitale nationale du Québec (CCNQ)

Award of Excellence – Industrial ($5M or more)
Project: Collège de l’Assomption sports complex
Architect: Les architectes FABG
Client: Collège de l’Assomption

Award of Excellence – Residential (single family)
Project: Maison en U, Montréal
Architect: Natalie Dionne, architect
Clients and owners: Natalie Dionne and Martin Laneuville

Award of Excellence – Residential (multi-unit)
Project: Édifice Fleury, Québec City
Architects: CCM2 + GM, architects; Côté Chabot Morel, architects; Gamache Martin, architects
Client: Université du Québec à Québec

Award of Excellence ex aequo – Conservation and Restoration (of the masonry)
Building: Bank of Montréal – Head Office, Place d’Armes
Architects: DFS Inc. Architecture & Design
Client: Bank of Montreal

Award of Excellence ex aequo – Conservation and Restoration (+ rehabilitation and modernization)
Building: Library of Parliament in Ottawa
Architects: Consortium of Ogilvie and Hogg; Desnoyers Mercure & Associates, architects; Spencer R. Higgins, Lundholm Associates
Client: Public Works and Government Services Canada

Award of Excellence – Recycling and Conversion + Sustainable Architecture and Development ex aequo
Building: Pavillon Espace 400e , Québec City
Architects: Consortium of Dan Hanganu, architects; Côté Leahy Cardas, architects
Client: Public Works and Government Services Canada, Parks Canada

Award of Excellence – Urban Design
Project: Promenade Samuel-De Champlain
Architects: Consortium of Daoust Lestage Inc.; Williams Asselin Ackaoui; Option aménagement
Client: Commission de la capitale nationale du Québec (CCNQ)


Honourable mention – Architecture and Universal Accessibility
Project: Résidence de la Cité, Vaudreuil-Dorion
Architect: Pierre Richard, architect
Client: Coopérative de solidarité La Seigneurie de Vaudreuil

Award of Excellence – Architecture and Sustainable Development (ex aequo)
Loto-Québec People’s Choice
Project: Groupe Stageline, L’Assomption
Architects: Allard Hamelin Lalonde, consortium of architects
Client: Immeuble Stageline Inc.

Synergy Award for collaboration and exceptional contribution to the project:
Pierre Arcand, president, Murox

Norman Slater Art and Architecture Integration Award
Project: Palais Montcalm, Maison de la musique, Salle-Raoul-Jobin, Québec City
Architects: Consortium M.: U.S.E. consisting of Jacques Plante, architect; Bernard et Cloutier, architects; St-Gelais Montminy, architects
Artists: Rose-Marie E. Goulet, visual artist; Florent Cousineau, multidisciplinary artist
Client: Québec City

Marcel-Parizeau Award (project whose total cost does not exceed $150,000) –
Project: Maison Bernier-Thibault, Montréal
Architects and owners: Paul Bernier, architect, and Joëlle Thibault

Vision Award, Architecture and Youth program (chosen by children and youth) –
Project: École primaire de la Grande-Hermine, Limoilou, Québec City
Architects: Consortium ABCP architecture and urbanism; Bisson + architect associates
Client: Commission scolaire de la Capitale

Les Affaires Perennial Award
(building more than 25 years old, still in use and recognized for withstanding the test of time without any major interventions beyond regular building maintenance. Its original architecture has been conducive to reappropriation by several users and owners over the years.)
Building: Tour de la Banque Nationale de Paris Paribas, Montréal
Original architects: René Menkès, architect; Webb Zerafa Menkès Housden, architects (1982) Owners: Louis Dreyfus Property Group (1982), Industrial Alliance (2009)

Action Award
Winner: Denis Lemieux, architect, sustainable development adviser, main author and coordinator of “Imaginer, réaliser la ville du 21e siècle – Cahiers de bonnes pratiques en design,” produced with architects Mario Brodeur and Jacques Lachapelle, collaborators in the writing and coordination of the 3rd Cahier des bonnes pratiques en design: 21 projets montréalais pour amorcer durablement le 21e siècle