Hariri Pontarini and the 2011 OAA Awards

The Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) has released its list of winners of the 2011 OAA Awards, which represent the best in Ontario architectural design, innovation and business. Hariri Pontarini Architects has been honoured with two awards in the Design Excellence category — for The University of Waterloo Integrated Health Science Campus and the Winter Olympics Ontario Pavilion. 

The University of Waterloo’s integrated Health Sciences Campus — comprised of the University of Waterloo School of Phramacy and McMaster University’s Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine — was designed and builkt to not onlyu provide a suitable learning environment for students and facility, but also to act as a catalyst for its immediate community, as well as present  the city of Kitchener with distinctive landmarks.  

The Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympic Games’ Pavilion (Ontario House) was designed as a physical and experiential gateway to Ontario. Evocative, light, shimmering and  seductive, the pavilion provided a unique expression of Ontario’s lively character.


Fifteen new buildings in Ottawa, Toronto, Hamilton, Orillia, Montréal, Kitchener, Vancouver, and Ithaca (New York) have been recognized as leading examples of architecture by receiving ‘Design Excellence’ awards. There were 150 submissions and the Jury unanimously agreed on the consistent high level of quality in the 2011 winning projects.

This year was the first time in the OAA Awards’ history the Honours and Awards Task Group extended the entry criteria to include buildings located outside the province of Ontario, designed by Ontario architects. The 2011 entries reflected a number of important aspects in architectural design and practice: an increased effort to address sustainability criteria, innovation when working on extremely tight budgets, and an increasingly collaborative approach in working with clients. 

The 2011 awards will be presented in Toronto on Friday, May 20, at the OAA Celebration of Excellence, hosted by OAA President Sheena Sharp and Master of Ceremonies Wendy Mesley, as part of the OAA Conference, May 18 – 21, 2011.

OAA Awards – List of Winners:

Design Excellence

25 York Street I Telus Tower
Adamson Associates Architects

Bloor / Gladstone Branch Library
Rounthwaite Dick & Hadley Architects Inc. 
in association with Shoalts & Zaback Architects Ltd. & E.R.A. Architects Inc.

Canadian Museum of Nature
Padolsky, Kuwabara, Gagnon Joint Ventures Architects (PKG): 
Barry Padolsky Associates Inc. Architects
Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects
Gagnon, Letellier, Cyr, Ricard, Mathieu Architectes

Cornell Plantations Welcome Center
Ithaca, New York, USA
Baird Sampson Neuert Architects Inc.

Department of Psychosocial Oncology & Palliative Care
Al Hertz Centre for Supportive and Palliative Care
Harold and Shirley Lederman Palliative Care Centre
ARK Architects + Research + Knowledge Inc. 

Front to Back Infill
Colizza Bruni Architecture Inc.

Hamilton Farmers’ Market and Central Public Library
Rounthwaite Dick & Hadley Architects Inc. in association with david premi Architects inc.

Humber College Centre for Justice Leadership
Gow Hastings Architects Inc.

Lakehead University, New Academic Building
Moriyama & Teshima Architects

LightSpace 2
Baird Sampson Neuert Architects Inc.

The Salvation Army Harbour Light
Diamond and Schmitt Architects

Scandinave Les Bains Vieux-Montréal 
Saucier + Perrotte architectes

University of Waterloo School of Pharmacy
Hariri Pontarini Architects with Young + Wright Architects

Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics Ontario Pavilion (Ontario House)
Hariri Pontarini Architects

Waterloo Region Museum
Moriyama & Teshima Architects In Association with The Walter Fedy Partnership

NewLifetime Design Achievement Award:

Eberhard H. Zeidler

Order of da Vinci:

Ranjit Dhar

G. Randy Roberts Service Award:

David R. Murphy

Concepts & Presentations:


Reza Aliabadi [rzlbd]

Studio 124-125, 48 Abell Street (After Eviction)
Honourable Mention
Michelle Van Eyk, Intern Architect


Chan Yiu-Bun, Intern Architect

Honourable Mention
Dubbeldam Design Architects


Embedded Boundaries
Liana Bresler, Student

IOD Thunder Bay
Honourable Mention
Brook McIlroy 

The 2011 Award winners were chosen by Juries that included members of the public whose interests and background represent many areas of the Ontario design community: 

Design Excellence & Plachta Award

CHAIR – David Craddock, First Vice-President, RAIC & OAA Past President 
Sara Diamond, President, OCAD University
Michael Totzke, Editor, Canadian Interiors
Janet Rosenberg, Landscape Architect, Janet Rosenberg + Associates 

Concepts & Presentations Awards

CHAIR – Kathleen Sharpe, Executive Director, Ontario Cultural Attractions Fund 
Richard Johnson, Photographer, Richard Johnson Photography
Karl Stevens, Partner, Stevens Burgess Architects Ltd. & Project Planning Global Inc. 
Anna Stranks, Past-President, ARIDO GTA Chapter, Senior Interior Designer, RCG Inc.

Order of da Vinci, G.Randy Roberts Award, Lifetime Design Achievement Award

CHAIR – Amirreza Sadeghi, Architect, Habib Architects Inc. 
Sheena Sharp, OAA President & Principal, Coolearth Architecture Inc.
Meg Graham, Principal, Superkül Inc. Architect
Diana Osborne, Architect, Osborne Architect

Additional awards to be announced at the event include ‘Best of Show’, the ‘Michael V. and Wanda Plachta Award’, and ‘People’s Choice’. Voting for ‘People’s Choice’ is available online at www.awards.oaa.on.ca from Friday, April 1 to Friday, April 15, 2011. 

For more information about the 2011 OAA Awards and to purchase tickets, pleaseclick here.

Privacy | © 2011 Ontario Association of Architects