The new KPMB

The founding partners of Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects (KPMB) — Bruce Kuwabara, Thomas Payne, Marianne McKenna and Shirley Blumberg — are pleased to announce the appointment of new principals, senior associates, associates and directors in the firm.

The collective talent and expertise of the 25 new appointees has contributed to designing buildings and spaces of architectural excellence. This announcement marks a new phase of leadership, inspired by the philosophy of creative collaboration embraced by the practice.

The new appointments include four Principals: Christopher Couse, Mitchell Hall, Luigi LaRocca, and Goran Milosevic; four Senior Associates: Andrew Dyke, David Jesson, Robert Sims, and Judith Taylor. As well, new Associates are appointed: Kevin Bridgman, Steven Casey, Mark Jaffar, Carolyn Lee, Glenn MacMullin, Meika McCunn, Kael Opie, John Peterson, Paulo Rocha, Dave Smythe, Kevin Thomas, Brent Wagler, Bruno Weber and Matthew Wilson, and three Directors: Phyllis Crawford (Finance), Philip Marjeram (Information Technology), and Amanda Sebris (Marketing).

Contemporary architecture must create supportive platforms for people, organizations and institutions to thrive and contribute to cultural, environmental and civic sustainability. The sustainability of the studio is a result of the combined skills of an energetic team of 95 men and women with aligned values — dedication to practicing architecture at the highest level, delivering exceptional built environments, and providing a high level of service to extraordinary clients, who also are KPMB’s partners in creating the work.

About KPMB Architects

KPMB is one of Canada’s leading architectural practices. When founded in 1987, the goal was to form an alternative model to the sole practitioner. This model, based on integrated team work, acknowledges the reality of the art of architecture as a collaborative endeavor. KPMB has developed a diverse portfolio of award-winning work throughout North America and Europe and is the recipient of more than 150 awards, including 11 Governor General’s Medals, Canada’s highest honour for architectural achievement.This year, the firm will celebrate the opening of a series of high-profile projects including the Munk School of Global Affairs at the University of Toronto, the Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI) Campus in Waterloo, and 18 York, part of Toronto’s new Southcore Financial Centre. In 2012, the firm looks forward to the completion of the Mike and Ophelia Lazaridis Quantum Nano Centre at the University of Waterloo, and Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto.

Future projects to watch for are: the Art Gallery of Saskatchewan in Saskatoon, Orchestra Hall for the Minnesota Symphony Orchestra in Minneapolis, and the new Music and Theatre Arts Building at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Cambridge.

About the New Leaders

For biographies and photos of the new appointees at KPMB Architects, click on links at