Here’s to the winners of the OAA Awards

Demonstrating the best in architectural design and innovation, winners of the 2013 Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) Awards feature both Canadian and international projects designed by Ontario architects, ranging from sustainable single-family homes to the redevelopment of key cultural and civic destinations.

Representing Ontario’s emerging new talent and some of the province’s most established architecture firms, 15 new, built projects in Toronto, Montreal, Los Angeles, Tel-Aviv, Waterloo, Sequin Township, and Vancouver have been distinguished in the Design Excellence category. Selected from more than 170 submissions, recipients of the 2013 Design Excellence Award have been recognized by a jury of peers from the design community on the following criteria:  

  1. Creativity: The innovative nature of the design solution.
  2. Context: The contribution a project makes to its unique location, to neighbouring uses and to community building.
  3. Sustainability: The contribution the project makes to a sustainable environment. Considers project design merits and the reduced use of raw materials and dependence on fossil fuels, as well as projects that achieve high quality interior environments, with regards to daylighting, air quality and material use.
  4. Good Design/Good Business: The degree to which the project creatively supports and interprets the business and architectural goals of the client through programming and design.
  5. Legacy: The contribution of the project in establishing a new benchmark for architectural excellence.

Celebrating forward-thinking design and leadership in architecture, more than 30 winners in nine categories will be recognized at a formal awards ceremony in Toronto this May, as part of the OAA’s annual conference.

2013 OAA Awards – List of Winners


Assuta Medical Centre

Tel Aviv, Israel; Zeidler Partnership Architects with Moore Architects Ltd. and M. Brestovisky Architects & Urban Design (Tel Aviv, Israel)

Cedarvale Ravine House

Toronto; Drew Mandel Architects

Centre for Green Cities, Evergreen Brickworks

Toronto; Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated

Claire and Marc Bourgie Pavilion of Quebec and Canadian Art

Montreal; Provencer Roy + Associés Architectes

Clear Lake Cottage

Sequin Township, Ont.; MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects Ltd.

Division 11

Toronto; Stantec Architecture Ltd., Architects; E.R.A. Architects Inc. (Heritage Consultant)

House on the Bluffs

Toronto; Taylor Smyth Architects

Los Angeles Museum of the Holocaust

Los Angeles; Belzberg Architects

Place des Festivals + Vitrines habitées – Quartier des spectacles

Montreal; DAOUST LESTAGE inc. architecture design urbain

Regent Park Aquatic Centre

Toronto; MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects Ltd.

Rotman School of Management 

Toronto; KPMB Architects

Ryerson Image Centre/School of Image Arts

Toronto; Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated

Stone Residence

Toronto; Hagy Belzberg Architect

The CIGI Campus

Waterloo, Ont.; KPMB Architects   

University of British Columbia, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences/CDRD

Vancouver; Saucier + Perrotte Architectes & Hughes Condon Marler Architects




The Map is Not the Territory

Honourable Mention; Brian A. Urbanik, student


Honourable Mention; Michael Conway, Architect


Steel Table

Honourable Mention; Cindy Rendeley Architexture

Knob Portrait: Mayor Ford

Honourable Mention; Paul Raff Studio Incorporated Architect


In Search of Place

Honourable Mention; Melody Taghi-Poor, Intern architect

Islamic Centre, Fort McMurray Alberta

Honourable Mention; Zak Ghanim, Architect Inc.


Workshop Architecture Inc.


Massey College

Ronald J. Thom, Thompson, Berwick & Pratt


A.J. Diamond


Alexander Rankin


David Craddock


The Ontario Association of Architects invites the public to cast their vote for the People’s Choice’Award. Launching Mar. 27 and running until Apr. 15, the public is encouraged visit the OAA’s People’s Choice Award Page on the OAA Website (to vote for the People’s Choice award, go to and pick their favourite new building from the 15 Design Excellence Award winners.

2013 OAA Award Juries

The 2013 Award winners were chosen by Juries that included members of the public whose interests and background represent many areas of the Ontario design community.

Design Excellence & Plachta Award

CHAIR – David Sisam, Principal, Montgomery Sisam Architects

Andrea Gabor, Partner, Urban Strategies Inc.

Dave LeBlanc, Journalist, The Globe and Mail

Gary Switzer, CEO, MOD Developments Inc.

Kristyn Wong-Tam, Toronto City Councillor

Concepts & Presentations Awards:

CHAIR – Robert Glover, Architect, Planner and Urban Designer, Bousfields Inc.
Doreen Balabanoff, Associate Professor OCAD, artist and designer

Marshall Pynkoski, Founding Co-Artistic Director, Opera Atelier

Matthew Teitelbaum, Director and CEO, Art Gallery of Ontario

Landmark, Order of da Vinci,  Best Emerging Practice & G. Randy Roberts Award:

CHAIR – John Ota, Facilities Management, Ministry of the Attorney General
Diana Osborne, Architect, Osborne Architect
David Thompson, Chair, Grand Valley Society of Architects

Bill Birdsell, OAA President   


OAA Celebration of Excellence Awards and Dinner May 10

The 2013 awards will be presented in Toronto on Fri. May 10, 2013 at the OAA Celebration of Excellence Awards and Dinner hosted at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre by OAA President Bill Birdsell and Master of Ceremonies, Ben Mulroney.

Additional awards to be announced at the event include Best of Show, the Michael V. and Wanda Plachta Award, and People’s Choice. For more information about the 2013 OAA Awards, please visit

About the OAA Awards

The OAA Awards offer the Ontario architectural profession an annual opportunity to present their work to the public and a professional audience; demonstrating the excellence of both individual award winners and the profession as a whole; fostering a greater appreciation of architecture and architects in the public realm.

About the Ontario Association of Architects

The Ontario Association of Architects is a self-regulating organization governed by the Architects Act, which is a statute of the Government of Ontario. The OAA’s mission is to represent, regulate, support and promote the profession of architecture in the interest of all Ontarians, and to lead the design and delivery of built form in the Province of Ontario.