Best of Show: UBC’s Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences/CDRD

The annual Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) Celebration of Excellence Awards – held on on Fri., May 10 – showcased the best in architectural design and innovation by Ontario architects. Fifteen new buildings in Toronto, Montreal, Los Angeles, Tel-Aviv, Waterloo, Sequin Township and Vancouver were distinguished in this year’s Design Excellence category.  Entry criteria were expanded to include projects designed by Ontario architects located outside the province. Says OAA president Bill Birdsell, “Opening the awards to national and international projects reflects the global impact Ontario architects are making.” 

In addition to the 15 Design Excellence awards announced before the ceremony, three more honours were unveiled during the gala:

– Best of Show was awarded to University of British Columbia Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences/CDRD by Saucier + Perrotte Architectes & Hughes Condon Marler Architects.

– Michael V. and Wanda Plachta Award honouring architectural excellence for projects in Ontario that cost no more than $8-million was presented to Drew Mandel Architects for Cedarvale Ravine House.

– People’s Choice, decided by public vote, went to Taylor Smyth Architects for House on the Bluffs.

“Architects are increasingly creating spaces that invite the general public to interact and engage,” says Birdsell. “The 2013 award winners exemplify architecture that goes beyond the expected in both design and function.  This year’s winning projects set the stage for what communities around the world are aspiring to achieve – open, bright, relevant and inclusive spaces, where people want to be,” says Birdsell.

“As a Canadian architect you have the chance to work in all kinds of inspiring landscapes,” says Gilles Saucier of Saucier + Perrotte, who took home Best of Show for the design of University of British Columbia Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences/CDRD. “The design builds upon the campus’s natural landscape and provides light-filled liveable spaces for world-class pharmaceutical research and learning. At the same time, an open and transparent ground floor invites the public in to showcase the important functions of the program.” The building was also designed to meet Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Gold standards and takes into consideration the future needs of the Pharmaceutical program.

The 2013 OAA awards were presented at the OAA Celebration of Excellence Awards and Dinner at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre in Toronto. The gala was attended by the province’s top architects, building industry guests, clients of the winning projects and those with a passion for architecture. etalk’s Ben Mulroney was the MC for the evening, hosted by OAA President, Bill Birdsell .

2013 OAA Awards – List of Winners

Best of Show:

University of British Columbia Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences/CDRD 
Vancouver, BC
Saucier + Perrotte Architectes & Hughes Condon Marler Architects

Michael V. and Wanda Plachta Award:

Cedarvale Ravine House
Toronto, ON
Drew Mandel Architects

People’s Choice:

House on the Bluffs
Toronto, ON
Taylor Smyth Architects

Design Excellence:

Assuta Medical Centre
Tel Aviv, Israel
Zeidler Partnership Architects with Moore Architects Ltd. and M. Brestovisky Architects & Urban Design (Tel Aviv, Israel) 

Cedarvale Ravine House
Toronto, ON
Drew Mandel Architects

Centre for Green Cities, Evergreen Brickworks
Toronto, ON
Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated

Claire and Marc Bourgie Pavilion of Quebec and Canadian Art
Montreal, QC
Provencer Roy + Associés Architectes

Clear Lake Cottage
Sequin Township, ON
MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects Ltd.

Division 11, Toronto Police Service
Toronto, ON
Stantec Architecture Ltd., Architects
E.R.A. Architects Inc. (Heritage Consultant)

House on the Bluffs
Toronto, ON
Taylor Smyth Architects

Los Angeles Museum of the Holocaust
Los Angeles, California
Belzberg Architects

Place des Festivals + Vitrines habitées – Quartier des spectacles
Montreal, QC
DAOUST LESTAGE inc. architecture design urbain

Regent Park Aquatic Centre
Toronto, ON
MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects Ltd.

Rotman School of Management

Toronto, ON
KPMB Architects

Ryerson Image Centre/School of Image Arts
Toronto, ON
Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated

Toronto Residence
Toronto, ON
Hagy Belzberg Architect 

The CIGI Campus
Waterloo, ON
KPMB Architects               

University of British Columbia, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences/CDRD
Vancouver, BC
Saucier + Perrotte Architectes & Hughes Condon Marler Architects 

Concepts & Presentations:


The Map is Not the Territory
Honourable Mention
Brian A. Urbanik, student


Honourable Mention

Michael Conway, Architect


Steel Table

Honourable Mention
Cindy Rendeley Architexture

Knob Portrait: Mayor Ford

Honourable Mention
Paul Raff Studio Incorporated Architect 


In Search of Place
Honourable Mention
Melody Taghi-Poor, Intern architect 

Islamic Centre, Fort McMurray, Alberta

Honourable Mention
Zak Ghanim, Architect Inc.

Best Emerging Practice:

Workshop Architecture Inc.

Landmark Award:

Massey College
Ronald J. Thom, Thompson, Berwick & Pratt

Lifetime Design Achievement Award:

ouring members for career-long contribution to Architectural Design Excellence
A.J. Diamond

G. Randy Roberts Service Award:

Recognizing members of the OAA for extraordinary service to the members
Alexander Rankin

Order of da Vinci:

Presented to persons who have made a significant and meaningful contribution to the profession of architecture

David Craddock

2013 OAA Award Juries

The 2013 Award winners were chosen by Juries that included architects and leaders in the public whose professional experiences represent many areas of the Ontario design, arts, academic and business communities.

Design Excellence & Plachta Award:

CHAIR – David Sisam, Principal, Montgomery Sisam Architects

Andrea Gabor, Partner, Urban Strategies Inc.

Dave LeBlanc, Journalist, The Globe and Mail

Gary Switzer, CEO, MOD Developments Inc.

Kristyn Wong-Tam, Toronto City Councillor

Concepts & Presentations Awards:

CHAIR – Robert Glover, Architect, Planner and Urban Designer, Bousfields Inc.
Doreen Balabanoff, Associate Professor OCAD, artist and designer

Marshall Pynkoski, Founding Co-Artistic Director, Opera Atelier

Matthew Teitelbaum, Director and CEO, Art Gallery of Ontario

Landmark, Order of da Vinci,  Best Emerging Practice & G. Randy Roberts Award:

CHAIR – John Ota, Facilities Management, Ministry of the Attorney General
Diana Osborne, Architect, Osborne Architect
David Thompson, Chair, Grand Valley Society of Architects

Bill Birdsell, OAA President