IDC appoints new representatives and welcomes new provincial association

Interior Designers of Canada (IDC) has appointed eight new Directors to the IDC Board of Management at its Annual Meeting, held today at Toronto’s Direct Energy Centre. IDC welcomes incoming association president Ada Bonini of Vancouver-based Bob’s Your Uncle Design Inc., alongside this year’s new Directors. “IDC’s advocacy and government relations efforts over the last year have been met with great enthusiasm,” said Bonini. “We are on a path to greater local, national and international recognition for Canadian interior designers. I am excited to be President at such an important time for the profession.”

Having successfully completed his 12-month term as president, David Gibbons of Ottawa-based LWG Architectural Interiors, will assume the role of Past-President. Denis Chouinard of Lévis, Que.-based Desjardin Group, has been named IDC’s 1st Vice-President, and Aandra Currie Shearer of Richmond B.C.-based Kindrachuk Agrey Architecture, is IDC’s new 2nd Vice-President.

Ellyn Berg, Berg Design and Consulting, SK, Lori Arnold, MAC Interior Design, NS, Karla Korman, Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries, MB, and Michele Roach, Wolski Design Group, AB, join the Board as Provincial Directors. Also joining the Board is Kara MacGregor, MAC Interior Design, NS, as Director at Large; Susanne Koltai, Dawson College, QC, as Director, Education; and Sarah Parker Charles, Stantec Architecture, NL, as Provisional Director.

Also part of the Annual Meeting was the official induction of Interior Designers of Newfoundland and Labrador (IDNL) as provisional association members. IDNL is comprised of 17 members who practice primarily in the commercial and residential sectors, and is rapidly growing its local industry presence. With the acceptance of IDNL, IDC represents members from nine provincial associations nation-wide.