B.C.’s very best

The 30th annual Interior Designers Institute of British Columbia’s Awards of Excellence gala was held at the Vancouver Convention Centre at the end of September. Nearly 250 guests were treated to a memorable evening of networking, laughs, eye candy and taste delights.

IDIBC holds the annual event to celebrate excellence in interior design and promote its members throughout the province. Awards were given in the following categories: Residential; Multi-unit Residential and Marketing; Retail and Kiosk; Healthcare and Personal Services Facilities; Public and Institutional Spaces; Hospitality; Food and Beverage; Workplace Total; and Workplace Partial. Total awards this year number 27: the Robert Ledingham Award, honouring a project that demonstrated the highest level of design excellence and creativity (established this year and presented for the very first time); nine Awards of Excellence; and 17 Awards of Merit.

The big winner of the evening was Kasian Architecture Interior Design and Planning, taking home the Robert Ledingham Award as well as an Award of Excellence for the Esker Foundation Gallery. A modern landmark in Calgary’s most historic neighbourhood, the project encompasses aesthetically stunning features, including a flowing steel-wrapped nest and digital video art wall. (Kasian also won an Award of Merit for its own office in Calgary.)

SSDG Interiors Inc. took home two Awards of Excellence, both for Workplace Total projects, one for Blackburn Young Office Solutions, the other for Hootsuite Media Inc. (In the same category, SSDG also won an Award of Merit for Plentyoffish Media Inc.)

Winners of the remaining six Awards of Excellence: Mitchell Freedland Design, for Los Angeles Private Residence; Sinclair Dental Co. Ltd., for True Dental; BOX Interior Design Inc., for The Fish Shack; McFarlane Green Biggar Architecture + Design, for Bosk Restaurant; Ingenium Design Group Inc., for Yellow Door restaurant; and Square One Interiors Inc., for its office for Bosa Properties. 

To view the full list of winners, visit idibc.org.