IDC – the country’s national interior design association – appoints new representatives

Interior Designers of Canada (IDC), the national advocacy body for the profession of interior design, recently announced the appointment of seven new directors to its Board of Management. The announcement took place at IDC’s Annual Meeting, held Sept. 26 as part of IDSwest at the Vancouver Convention Centre. IDC welcomes incoming association president Denis Chouinard of Desjardins Group in Lévis, QC.

As an involved, long-time member of APDIQ, Chouinard brings valuable association experience to his new role. “I am pleased to be taking on the role of IDC president,” says Chouinard. “I look forward to continuing to advance IDC’s mandate of promoting the profession of interior design locally, nationally and internationally.”

Having successfully completed her 12-month term as president, Ada Bonini of Bob’s Your Uncle Design Inc., Vancouver, BC, will assume the role of past-president. Aandra Currie Shearer (Richmond, BC) of Kindrachuk Agrey Architecture moves into the 1st vice-president position. Clinton Hummel of Paisley Park Inc., North Bay, ON has been named 2nd vice-president.

Joining the board as provincial directors are Sally Mills, Omicron AEC Ltd., BC; Fran Underwood, Underwood & Moore Interior Designers, NS; and Caroline Robbie-Montgomery, Quadrangle Architects Limited, ON.

Also joining the board is Jason Kasper, IDEATE Design Consulting Inc., MB, as director at large; Karin Vandenberg of McCallum Sather Architects Inc., ON as director, intern; Andy Stilin, 3M – Architectural Markets, BC, as director, industry; and Amy Barbour, Stantec Architecture Ltd., NL, as provisional director.

David Gibbons, LWG Architectural Interiors, ON, moves into the position of chair, Board of Governors. Continue their terms as provincial directors are Kimberley Murphy of Kim Murphy Design, NB; Ellyn Berg of Berg Design and Consulting, SK; Anne-Marie Legault of Dawson College, QC; Karla Korman of Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries, MB; and Michele Roach of Wolski Design Group Ltd., AB.

Kara MacGregor of Mac Interior Design, NS continues as director at large; Susanne Koltai, Dawson College, QC as director, education; and Trevor Kruse, Hudson Kruse, ON as IIDEXCanada liaison.