The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) calls for award submissions

The time has come for architects to submit projects for the RAIC’s prestigious awards program. Architects are invited to enter their work or nominate a colleague or leader in the profession to be recognized for contributions to the built environment. There are 10 awards in total available that honour a wide range of achievements in the architectural profession.

The RAIC administers the largest architecture awards program in Canada, recognizing excellence in the field. The program seeks to increase public awareness of architecture, contribute to the development of the discipline and practice of architecture, and promote collective learning on the part of the architectural community. Award recipients are selected by a jury or peer-assessment committee.

The Awards of Excellence, awarded every two years, are: the Advocate for Architecture Award; the Allied Arts Medal; The Green Building Award; The Innovation in Architecture Award; and the President’s Award for Media in Architecture.

This year’s deadline is Jan. 8, 2015, before 4 p.m. ET.

Also, open for submissions are the RAIC Gold Medal; the Emerging Architectural Practice Award; the Architectural Firm Award; the Young Architect Award; and the Prix du XXe Siècle, awarded in partnership with Heritage Canada The National Trust.

The deadline for these awards is Jan. 15, 2015, before 4 p.m. ET.

Recipients of these awards receive either a medal or plaque, and will be announced in spring 2015. The awards ceremony will take place during the RAIC Festival of Architecture taking place June 3-6, 2015. in Calgary.

All awards are by submission except for the Gold Medal, the Advocate for Architecture Award and the Prix du XXe Siècle, which are by nomination. The cost for submission ranges from $0 to $350.

For more information about the awards Program and how to submit a project, please visit 

Advocate for Architecture
This award celebrates an individual who has made a public contribution to architecture in Canada. Candidates may be found among clients or patrons, educators, public servants, architects, allied professions and others.
Allied Arts Medal
This award honours a Canadian artist or designer for outstanding achievement for art work created to be integrated with architecture.
Green Building
This award recognizes outstanding achievements of high-performance architecture in Canada for buildings that are environmentally responsible and healthy places to live, work and play.
Innovation in Architecture
This award recognizes exceptional architectural innovation. Potential areas for innovation include research and development, applied use of new technology and adaptation of existing technology.
President’s Award for Media in Architecture
This award recognizes storytelling about buildings and cities that promotes understanding of architecture and the role of architects in the daily life of Canadians.
Architectural Firm Award
This award is to recognize an architectural firm or practice that has consistently produced distinguished architecture.
Young Architect Award
This award is to recognize a young architect for excellence in design, leadership and service to the profession.
Emerging Architectural Practice Award
This award is to recognize the principals of an emerging architectural practice that has consistently produced distinguished architecture.
Prix du XXe Siècle
The Prix du XXe siècle recognizes outstanding and lasting contributions to Canadian architecture, and landmark buildings in the historical context of Canadian architecture.


The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada is a voluntary national association, representing 4,800 members. The RAIC works to demonstrate how design enhances the quality of life and also promotes responsible architecture by addressing important issues of society.