Architects from 13 Canadian cities named 2015 Fellows

A Winnipeg expert in bio-medical facilities. The head of Montreal’s international district. The designer of a major Newfoundland cultural space. A Toronto leader who contributed to the Evergreen Brickworks. All four are among the Canadian architects to be named 2015 Fellows.

The College of Fellows of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) bestows Fellowship in recognition of outstanding achievement. Criteria include design excellence, exceptional scholarly contribution or distinguished service to the profession or the community.

Representing Canada coast to coast, the 36 new Fellows come from Halifax, Fredericton, St. John’s, Montreal, Ottawa, Windsor, Toronto, London, Winnipeg, Regina, Calgary, Edmonton, and Vancouver.

They include:

• Scott Stirton, of Winnipeg, whose projects include the Canadian Science Centre for Human and Animal Health in Winnipeg and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in Atlanta, GA

• Clément Demers, of Montreal, general director of Quartier international de Montréal (a renewal project that has won 31 awards) and professor in urban planning at the University of Montreal

• Philip Pratt, of St. John’s, architect for The Rooms in St. John’s (housing the Newfoundland and Labrador Provincial Archives, Art Gallery and Museum) and champion of local design traditions

• Pat Hanson, of Toronto, architect of the Museum of Inuit Art and co-designer of the landscape master plan for the Evergreen Brickworks and June Callwood Park, all in Toronto.

Full list is below.

Fellows will be inducted at the College of Fellows Convocation, which takes place during the Festival of Architecture in Calgary, June 3-6. The Festival is organized by the RAIC in partnership with the Alberta Association of Architects.

In addition, a prominent Canadian social entrepreneur and a Greek architect, both employing design for social change, will receive Honourary Fellowships at the Festival:

• Zita Cobb is the founder of Shorefast Foundation, which uses architecture, art, design, craft and food to invigorate the economy and culture of Fogo Island off the coast of Newfoundland.

• Vassilis Sgoutas is an architect in Athens, Greece. During his tenure as president of the International Union of Architects (UIA), the UIA focussed on poverty in the developing world, and barrier-free design.



George Anthony Cotaras, FRAIC, Halifax; Barbara A.W. Nicholson, FRAIC, Fredericton; Susan Anne Mansel Fitzgerald, FRAIC, Halifax; Philip Pratt, FRAIC, St. John’s; Christopher Young, FRAIC, Halifax


Clément Demers, FIRAC, Montréal; Sylvie Perrault, FIRAC, Montréal; Annmarie Adams, FRAIC, Montréal


Graham Murfitt, FRAIC, Ottawa; Robert Matthews, FRAIC, Ottawa; Martin Pierre Tite, FRAIC, Ottawa; Vladimir A. Popovic, FRAIC, Ottawa; Yew-Thong Leong, FRAIC, Toronto; Anthony Mancini, FRAIC, Toronto; Thomas Tillmann, FRAIC, London; Richard Witt, FRAIC, Toronto; Giuseppina (Pina) Petricone, FRAIC, Toronto; Pat Hanson, FRAIC, Toronto; Margaret Graham, FRAIC, Toronto; Mary Jane Finlayson, FRAIC, Toronto; Jonathon Soules, FRAIC, Toronto; Jaroslav L. Glos, FRAIC, Windsor; Heather Dubbeldam, FRAIC, Toronto; David Moore, FRAIC, Toronto; Charles Hazell, FRAIC, Toronto; W. Carson Woods, FRAIC, Toronto; Ajon Moriyama, FRAIC, Toronto


Scott Stirton, FRAIC, Winnipeg


Bernard Flaman, FRAIC, Regina


Gene Dub, FRAIC, Edmonton; Amir Hemani, FRAIC, Calgary; Richard John Isaac, FRAIC, Edmonton; Mark Chambers, FRAIC, Calgary


Nicholas John Bevanda, FRAIC, Vancouver; Noel Arthur Edwin Best, FRAIC, Vancouver; Susan Gushe, FRAIC, Vancouver


The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada is a voluntary national association, representing 5,000 members. The RAIC advocates for excellence in the built environment, works to demonstrate how design enhances the quality of life and promotes responsible architecture in addressing important issues of society.

For more information, visit