December deadline for Governor General’s Medals submissions

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) and the Canada Council for the Arts invite architects to participate in the competition for the 2018 Governor General’s Medals in Architecture. Awarded every two years, the medals recognize and celebrate outstanding design in recently completed built projects – big or small – by Canadian architects. They are among this country’s most prestigious and coveted architectural awards.

Governor General's Medals in Architecture

Submission deadline: December 1, 2017, 4 p.m. ET. Applying is quick and easy at RAIC members receive a discount on the entry fee. The 2018 competition will result in the awarding of 12 Governor General’s Medals in Architecture.

Celebrate your work with your team and clients, reach new markets, attract new business and talent, and gain exposure across Canada and internationally. Award-winners are promoted by the RAIC and the Canada Council; the 2016 winners appeared in a wide range of media outlets in Canada and internationally.

The RAIC, with the RAIC College of Fellows, is proud to organize and administer the competition. The Canada Council for the Arts is responsible for selecting and administering the peer assessment committee. The call for submissions is open to all architects or team of architects who are Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada and are licensed/registered with a Canadian, provincial or territorial Jurisdiction and were the lead design architects.

Eligible projects are those that were built in and outside of Canada and completed between January 1, 2010, and September 1, 2017.

The following are NOT eligible:

projects having received a Governor General’s Medal in Architecture in a previous competition;
projects with involvement of a peer assessment committee member (jury) for the 2018 competition; or a member of the RAIC Awards Committee or RAIC staff; or a member of the Board or staff of the Canada Council for the Arts.

Medals are awarded for excellence in the art of architecture. The primary criterion will be the architectural artistic merit of the design, including such elements as conceptual clarity, innovation and uniqueness, compatibility with the site, sustainable design and detailing.

The jury members are:

David T. Fortin, MRAIC, PhD,
Architect and Assistant Professor, Laurentian University McEwen School of Architecture (Alberta, Saskatchewan and Sudbury, Ontario);

Adele Weder, MASA, Hon. MRAIC
Editor 2017-18, Canadian Architect (Vancouver, BC;

Andrew Frontini, MRAIC
Design Director, Principal Perkins + Will (Toronto, ON);

Andrea Wolff, FRAIC
Founding Partner, ARCHITEM Wolff Shapiro Kuskowski Architects (Montreal, QC);

Róisín Heneghan;
Founding Partner, Heneghan Peng Architects (Dublin, Ireland)