Entries close tonight for Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence

The September 20 deadline to enter this year’s Awards of Excellence is here. Celebrating 51 years, our sister publication Canadian Architect has since 1967 sponsored an annual national awards program recognizing projects in the design stage. Each year, submissions are due in September, judging takes place in October and the winning schemes are published in a special issue every December. Student Awards of Excellence are also awarded for final-year projects by Canadian architecture students. Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence

To enter, you must be either (A) an architect registered in Canada or (B) a graduate of an accredited Canadian architecture school holding a professional degree from that school. To enter the student awards, you must have been nominated by your school and asked to submit.

Projects must be in the design stage, scheduled for construction or under construction but not substantially complete by September 20, 2018. All projects must be commissioned by a client with the intention to build the submitted proposal. All building types and concisely presented urban design schemes are eligible.

Awards are given for architectural design excellence. Jurors will consider the following criteria (with all criteria being weighted equally): 

  • Physical organization and form, including attention to composition and detail
  • Response to program, site, geographic and/or urban context
  • Innovation in concept, process, materials, building systems and/or implementation
  • Demonstration of exemplary environmental and/or social awareness 

More information about the Awards of Excellence — including detailed submission requirements and an FAQ — is available via our Awards page, linked here. Make sure to also check out our coverage of last year’s 50th anniversary winners, as well as our December retrospectives, which look at the full history of the awards:

They’re 50

Remembrance of Juries Past

This year’s jury was also recently named, with submissions to be evaluated by Ted Watson, MRAIC, Monica Adair, MRAIC, and David Penner, FRAIC.

Click here for registration information for this year’s Awards of Excellence.