Canadian Architect announces Awards of Excellence winners

Canadian Architect is proud to announce a total of fourteen awards in its annual Awards of Excellence program. Architectural firms and students from across Canada received top honours for design proposals that embody qualities of innovation and overall design excellence, as well as social and environmental sustainability.2018 Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence

Now in their 51st year, these awards are the highest recognition for excellence in the design stage in the Canadian architectural sector. By focusing on commissioned yet unbuilt projects along with exceptional student work, the program recognizes design ambitions and supports an overall culture of design excellence.

Of the 190 professional and student submissions received for this year’s awards program, the jury selected 7 projects for Awards of Excellence, 4 projects for Awards of Merit, and 2 projects for Student Awards of Excellence. This year’s program also features our inaugural Photo Award of Excellence for architectural photography.

This year’s jury comprised Ted Watson, MRAIC, a partner at Toronto-based MJMA, Monica Adair, MRAIC, a co-founder and principal of Saint John, New Brunswick-based Acre Architects, and David Penner, FRAIC, founder and principal of David Penner Architect in Winnipeg.

The winning projects are:

Award of Excellence

gh3* (lead design architect) with S2 Architecture (prime consultant)
Windermere Fire Station 31

RDH Architects
Idea Exchange Old Post Office

Ja Architecture Studio
The Octagon

Moriyama Teshima Architects / Acton Ostry Architects Inc. Associated Architects
The Arbour

Les Architects FABG
New Paddock – F1 Grand Prix du Canada

Consortium Saucier+Perrotte / GLCRM Architectes
Bibliothèque Gabrielle-Roy

Office Ou
Škola Smíchov

Award of Merit

5468796 Architecture
James Avenue Pumping Station

Kongats Architects
International Estonian Centre

Atelier TAG and Architecture49 in consortium
Aménagement du musée et du dôme de la basilique de l’oratoire Saint-Joseph du Mount-Royal

Kuehn Malvezzi, Pelletier de Fontenay, Jodoin Lamarre Pratte with Atelier le Balto
Insectarium de Montréal

Student Award of Excellence

Joshua Nieves, Dalhousie University
Engaging the Post-Industrial Frontier

Mark Melnichuk, McGill University
Northern Cloud

Photo Award of Excellence

Ema Peter Photography
Reflecting Architecture: Parq Vancouver

The award-winning projects are described in full in the December 2018 issue of Canadian Architect, available here.