Jean-Maxime Labrecque Wins AMP Interior Designer of the Year Award

Canadian architect Jean-Maxime Labrecque received the Interior Designer of the Year award for his Infinite Buildings project at this year’s Architecture MasterPrize (AMP) ceremony.

In addition to the exterior makeover of their residence, Labrecque’s two art-collector clients instructed their architect to create an installation that would occupy the entire lower floor of their Montréal space.

The key element of this project is to transform a claustrophobic space into a generous volume, without altering the building’s structure.

The AMP jury also selected the following projects as the top winners of The Architecture MasterPrize 2019: 

  • Architectural Design Of The Year: The Retreat at the Blue Lagoon Iceland by Basalt Architects
  • Landscape Design of The Year: The Best of Youth
    by Unlimited Metropolis Studio

This year, the AMP winner’s gala was presented in collaboration with the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao (Spain).

Winners were selected from over a thousand entries in over 60 countries with 150 winning architectural and design project attendees, which was introduced by AMP’s Founder and President, Mr. Hossein Farmani.

“An unforgettable event, possibly one of the most significant celebration of the industry this year. With nearly 300 guests, well known architects and interior designers gathered from more than 30 countries. It was truly a night to remember in the extraordinary Guggenheim Museum Bilbao,” said Farmani.

The AMP strives to advance the appreciation of quality architectural design worldwide while celebrating creativity and innovation in the fields of architecture, landscape architecture, and interior design. The prize is open to submissions on a global level, accepting entries from architects all around the world.

The Architecture MasterPrize was assembled by the Farmani Group as the sister initiative of the IDA International Design Awards, which has been recognizing and celebrating smart and sustainable multidisciplinary design since 2007.

Click here to view the 2019 Architecture MasterPrize winners.